Barrow Live

*** Nb – Unlike the corresponding BBC version of this page, updates with neither appear automatically, nor will the page refresh automatically every two minutes. You’ll have to press F5 yourself. Sorry… ***

16.58    Strangley after a poor result, I’m not as disappointed as I thought I would be. Probably thanks to the fact we are still top of the league, Crawley failed to make us pay being held 1-1 at Darlington. Luton won at Altricham as expected, closing the gap on the top two to vitrually nothing, but I can’t help but think we got away with it a little today. Yes, Crawley still have their game in hand, for what its worth at this stage of the season.

Anyway, its been an interesting experiment with the live blog this afternoon. Thanks for joining me, perhaps I’ll try it again some day, but I really need to start getting back to actually attending away games again…

16.53    FINAL WHISTLE – BARROW 2 AFC WIMBLEDON 0

16.51    We’re playing out four added minutes now. WDON is back…

16.48    WDON went down, It took me about a minute to notice…

16.45    Another unwanted stat. The Dons have so far failed to pick up a point whenever The Anonymous Don has attempted a live blog…

16.43    It sounds very much like events are winding down at Barrow, the Dons are heading for defeat, and I’m starting to think of my closing statements.

16.40    I daren’t mention it for fear of tempting fate, but there has been no change to the scoreline up at Darlington. The Dons still top the league as it stands…

16.36    A miserable afternoon for the Dons seems to have been capped off by a second Barrow goal against the run of play. Like this weekend last year the Dons are 0-2 down at Barrow, surely no way back this time…

16.34    Barrow clear one off the line. Always annoying when that happens when you listen via WDON, as you can tell it didn’t go in by Mikey T’s voice. Right now, despite the scoreline, I’m regretting not making arrangements to be there myself. Mind you it is raining. I’ll take any crumb of comfort I can get right now. Come on Dons.

16.29    Second substitution for the Dons, Wellard makes way for Minshull

16.25    First Dons substitution, Jackson makes way for Luke Moore. I thought Moore was impressive against Ebbsfleet last week, but is he the answer to our problems at rainy Barrow? Then next twenty minutes or so will tell us…   

16.21    Almost as if to prove my point, They’ve scored again. Happy Birthday Anonymous Don. Come on you Dons! I don’t want to be staring forlornly into my pint all evening…

16.20    As if things aren’t bad enough, They’ve scored at Brentford.

16.17     I always find this period, the opening twenty minutes of the second half, is the calm before the storm. There doesn’t appear to be many goals about anywhere at the moment, but most importantly for the Dons (who sound like they are playing a lot better) there is nothing doing at Barrow.

16.13    Luton take the lead. All of a sudden things aren’t looking too good for the Dons despite a more positive start to the second half. Still, plenty of time to go…

16.11    Momentary excitement here as Nwokeji hits the side netting with an effort. Incidentally I’m glad Nokkers is getting a chance to prove his worth rather than being shipped out on loan – Eastbourne were mentioned, but apparently none of our forwards will be leaving until after the cup run is over…

16.09    Just did a little original research to find out when the last time the Dons lost on or around my birthday was – we have to go back to an Isthmian League Cup reverse at Tooting in 2006…

16.07    Sebb Brown forced to make a save. If we go 2-0 down I’m giving up and going down the pub… 

16.04    SECOND HALF KICKS OFF – The Dons are kicking towards the away end, as Ricky Wellard forces a save from Halstead with a fierce effort.

15.59    Having all sorts of technical problems at this end. I presume thats why this sort of live blog, while commonly attempted, aren’t that popular… still, at least I’m having what passes as fun when your team is a goal down, I hope the half dozen of you checking in are too!

15.52   Just realised my BBC feed hadn’t updated itself for twenty minutes… Darlington-Crawley is now 1-1…

15.48    HALF TIME – As I head off for a well-earned break, the Dons failed to build on a promising opening period and eventually succumbed to a goal late in the half. Crawley are currently losing 0-1 to ten-man Darlington, whereas Luton have failed to break down Altrincham… yet.

15.45    Danny Kedwell picks up a yellow card after what sounded like a bit of a melee…

15.42    BARROW 1 AFC WIMBLEDON 0 –  Bollocks. Looks like I spoke too soon. No sooner had I finished writing the previous entry than a muffled roar momentarily drowned Mikey T. Barrow take the lead, as all eyes turn to Darlington and Altrincham…

15.40    As half time approaches, the Dons seem to be coming under more and more pressure. I’m prepared to adopt the standard football supporters away mantra and say I’ll happily take a point right now. As I write Ryan Jackson fires over on the break…

15.38    I don’t care whether I’m at the game or not, I’m not answering the phone to my sister when the footballs on!

15.33    Just spent a few minutes correcting spelling errors below before the sound cuts out again, and I spoke too soon… my connection drops for a quarter of a second,  iStadium kicks me out and someone nips in and takes my place!!!

15.29    The first away goal of the day comes at Hayes, where visiors Grimsby take the lead. That was at least ten minutes ago though, my observational skills are’t what they were… meanwhile Mark Goodfellowcomes close for Barrow, the Dons should be 0-1 down by the sound of it… 

15.26    News filering through that Crawley are losing… Now confirmed by the BBC! Which only means we’ll all get a little excited before they inevitably come back and win it in the last minute…

15.25    My worst nightmare – the feed goes down for a few second, I have a panic attack…

15.24    After listening to both streams for a good two minutes I can’t work out which one is ahead of the other…

15.21   BBC Radio Cumbria for anyone interested – http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/console/bbc_radio_cumbria

15.17    Whenever Mikey T pauses for longer than two seconds I immediately start to panic, assuming the commentary has gone down. I wonder if there is a BBC alternative today??? Meanwhile, Sam Hatton has just picked up a rare booking…

15.15   Just been advised of an interesting stat… the Dons have not been involved in a game featuring more than ten goals when Steven Gregory has started… expect the net to start bulging shortly…

15.13    Fleetwood take the lead against Rushden and Forest Green notch at home to Mansfield…

15.09    Dons Bench – Turner, Moore L, Blackman, Minshull, Gregory – nice and attacking bench there. As I write Sebb Brown makes a save from Nick Chadwick… strange how I’m more nervous listening online as I would be if I were at the game…

15.05    The Villa- Man U game finished 2-2… really? No early goals yet anywhere in the BSP…

15.03   Sounds like a promising start… Sammy Moore hits the first Dons hot in anger…

15.01    BARROW LINEUP (For those of you interested…) – Haltead, Spender, Pearson, Bolland, Edwards, Hulbert, Rutherford, Goodfellow, Owen, Chadwick, Blundell

15.00 KICK OFF

14.56    DONS LINEUP – Brown, Hatton, Bush, Yakubu, Franks, Wellard, Yussuf, Moore S,  Jackson, Kedwell, Nwokeji

14.54   This is actually quite fun… was thinking I should do this every time I can’t make a game, and looking at the fixture list I realised this is actually my fourth consecutive away game missed… not good enough!

14.53    Just realised the BBC score service is not available via the red button thanks to rugby. So my telly will be playing out Have I Got News For You until 4.30…

14.49    More team news coming through – Steven Gregory on the bench paying the price following his recent poor form, although TB’s vow to shuffle his pack may have played a part in that…

14.46    Nice little start to the preamble by Mikey T, where for at least a minute he fails to realise he’s live on air… love the fact that whenever anything goes wrong the veneer of professionalism goes out the window! It gives me a warm feeling inside… very Wimbledon…

14.42    The BBC live text is still currently showing Barrow v Newport, but some team news is filtering through… In place of the ill Jon Main, Mark Nwokeji gets a rare start, and Andre Blackman steps back for Chris Bush. Presumably Andre is being rested for Thursday, as you all know I prefer a Blackman to a Bush any time… 

14.36 Yup, thats me logged in for the day. And with only 86 people currently in, heres hoping I won’t be getting kicked out. Catastrophic equipment failures aside of course… Talking of equipment, the BBC version of this no doubt has numerous live feeds to bring you up to the second information, I have one screen (with freeview) that is currently showing WRC on Dave, and an audio feed that hasn’t started transmitting yet…

14:29    Welcome to the inaugural Anonymous Don live blog. Effectively the next best thing to the istadium – if only because its effectively like not being able to get into the istadium and having someone tell you whats going on. Coming live a mere stones throw away from Kingsmeadow (presuming of course you can throw a stone half a mile…), I’ll be in a position to immediately respond to any events from Barrow immediately. Please ignore any spelling or grammar errors. Talking of the matchday stadium…

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “Barrow Live

  1. maliniok says:

    Sorry debut for your live blog with this result, but well… I’ve enjoyed it! The blog, not the result. Now with my Junior Don being due in 8 days I might need it more… but I guess you won’t be doing it from KM? 🙂

    • anonymousdon says:

      Haha! Talk them into finding me room in the press box, dont think the laptop will survive an afternoon in the Tempest!

  2. Katie says:

    Barrow? Isn’t he that cute young man from Torchwood?

    I see live blogging takes presedence over domestic relations. You and Josh Gates both!

    I’m gonna go make us some money.
    C’mon you Wimbos!!!

Leave a Reply

